The human touch 

A friend of mine says he can never live alone: he always wants a human touch (sometimes a touch and another). But my human touch is currently flying somewhere across the universe. My friend says that I, unable to fly across the universe, am too afraid to touch again on this planet. I tell him my touch would have waited for me if I had died, as patiently and happily drowned in memories as I do now. 

“How do you know what Clement would have done?” my friend asks, who knows my answer. Because Clement lives in me. (We two always knew we are the same being in two bodies. We would have happily bought a place on the LES and lived a lifetime of theater and museums.)

But my friend is exceptionally astute. Is it really possible that Eternal Love is just a masquerade put out by the Fear of the New? 

Leave a Reply

